A New Era

Standard

Tomorrow begins a new era for me (Julie). Tomorrow is my last day of work. As of 5pm Wednesday, June 9th, 2010… I am a stay-at-home-mom!

Alan and I talked about this a year and a half ago when we first started pursuing adoption. I told him it was very important for me to be at home with the kids and not have to use day care or family to take care of our children. (This is not a bash on anyone who uses day care or relatives to watch their children while they work. Not everyone has this option or desire so I’m only talking about me personally right now.)

This decision doesn’t come without sacrifices. The main one right now being that we live with my parents. Our decision was basically to live with my parents and I could stay home… or get our own place and I’d have to work. So… why not have 3 generations in one house?! Everyone used to do that anyway. We’re very blessed that we even have the opportunity to live with my folks so we’re definitely not complaining about that. It will be nice to have grandparents so close by (literally). We wish Alan’s parents didn’t live so far away, but we have Skype and vacations to remedy that.

So there it is… I’m counting down… one more day and I can focus on the job I’ve always wanted. Am I lucky or what!

About roadtoadoption

We are Alan & Julie Briggs. In June 2010 we brought home Bethlehem and Emanuel from Ethiopia. We're enjoying this new family thing and will attempt to document some of our journey here. In July 2011 we added Eli to the family. No kids to 3 kids in 13 months... possibly some sort of record. :)

5 responses »

  1. After 5 years of working full time in the school I work at, THURSDAY is my last day of work! I’m staying home, too! Can’t wait to meet you in Addis!

  2. Not just lucky, Julie–blessed! And your children will be blessed by your presence as well. And so will your husband! You bless us. Love, Gram and G’pa

  3. Awesome and yea for you! I think it will be so special for your kids to grow up really knowing their grandparents. in so many other countries/cultures in the world, generations of families live together, and I think it adds such a richness to family life. God is in control, and it’s exciting to see how He’s providing for you and giving you your DREAM job! Yea!

  4. I know you probably won’t see this until you return, but I am thinking about you guys right now because in only a few hours, you will meet your kids!! I am in awe of the thought of that. I know the feeling. I know the anticipation, the excitement and even the fears. Savor every moment. Record all the memories. Let it all soak in. We are praying for you!!!

Leave a Reply

